Sunset chasing


You may have heard of those nutters who call themselves the Storm Chasers, a group of guys in the good old USA who hunt down Tornadoes, well yesterday I became a sunset chaser. Yes you read it right, I have become a Sunset Chaser!

Being a sunset chaser is a fucking tough job. You have to be fit and quick on your feet, both of which I sure could do with improving on and it looks like I will have to get into some serious training if I want to take my new hobby seriously.

My new hobby came about purely by chance. Let me explain…After work I decided to head out to central London, the plan was make my way to Marble Arch and then have a wander around Hyde Park, Kensington Gardens and Holland Park with the goal of taking a few ‘wintery pictures’ There I was sitting on the tube, when I decided to check that I had emptied my memory card. Damn! It was worse than expected; I had in fact forgotten to put any memory card in the camera. Not a great start to my adventure…

After a bit of deliberation, I decided I would just buy another one when I got off the tube at Marble Arch. First electronics shop I went into, Mr India offered me a 4GB card for £19.95, WTF. I never even answered the guy and walked out.

I knew there was an Argos along Edgware Road and I still had the measly 20 quid voucher they gave me for all the hassle they caused me at Christmas. To cut a long story short, I got the same card Mr India tried to rob me with for £8.95 at Argos! – Although people if you need memory cards, I personally use www.mymemory.co.uk for even better value.

By the time I had got all the way back to Marble Arch, then to Hyde Park, I was 60 minutes behind schedule. I was contemplating what to do. I had about an hour before it would be pitch dark, which wasn’t so good for the scenic pictures I was planning on taking.

I looked up to the sky seeking some inspiration, when I noticed the sun setting way in the distance. I instantly felt inspired and decided to chase the sun set. I knew there had to be some amazing pictures out there somewhere.

So off I went following the sun, trying to get to the Round Pond at Kensington Gardens, which I had a feeling would provide an amazing view, and if I had enough time, hopefully make it to Holland Park. I would have to be quick…very quick.

The fading sun and beautifully coloured sky, along with St Mary Abbots Church in the background were looking truly magnificent as I quickly walked and even ran at times, trying to reach Holland Park on time. By the time I made it to the Round Pond, I decided to give up the chase. I was never going to make it on time and anyway the view was truly beautiful and my legs were feeling a little bit tired from the rushing around. How pathetic do I sound!

However, watching the sun setting in Kensington Gardens was one of those magical moments where you just have to stop and soak it all up.  As for the Sunset Chasing, I’ll get back to you on that one…

Leave a Reply

