Two glasses of wine…


When things in your life seem almost too much to handle, when 24 hours in a day are not enough, remember the mayonnaise jar and the 2 glasses of Wine…

See it is all a bit philosophical I know, but if I were to be standing before you now and had some items infront of me being:

  • A class jar that used to contain Mayonnaise
  • 2 glasses of red wine
  • Some golf balls
  • Some small pebbles
  • Some sand.

You may think I was being my usual self (odd) but I may want to show you how one can understand our work/life balance and just what is important in today’s hectic world.

If I were to take the glass jar and fill it with the golf balls and you observed me doing this you would, as I would feel  too that the jar was now full.

Now if I added to this the pebbles, which of course as I shook the jar rolled into the open areas between the golf balls.  One would further agree the glass jar was indeed full.

Should  I further add to the golf ball and pebble mix the sand it too now will fill the gaps between the pebbles and the golf balls. I am guessing you would join me in unanimous agreement that the glass jar was full and certainly could take nothing more!

If I were though feeling very decadent and my mix of golf balls, pebbles and sand were not enough and added to this the two glasses of wine you may suspect I had lost the plot completely…But you would notice that said wine had now ‘filled the jar’ and you may crack a rye smile as the wine now filled the space between the sand, pebbles and golf balls.  You may also ask me ‘what is the point of this’?

Well you see the glass jar is life, the golf balls are the important things your family, your health, your friends, and your favorite passions; things that if everything else was lost and only they remained; your life would still be full.

The pebbles are the other things that matter like your job, your house and and if you own onw a car – onemight say the big things in life.  The sand is everything else; the small stuff the phone, the television that favourite jumper.

If you put the sand into the jar first, there will be no room for the pebbles or the golf balls.  The same goes for your life, if you spend your time and energy on the small stuff, you  you will never have room for the things that are important to you.

Pay attention to the things that are critical to your happiness. Take time to take your partner out and spoil him or her, look after your health, life for the moment and enjoy life fully without planning too much or awaiting before you jump in. There will always be time to clean the house and do the mundane and boring things, but as you get older you see that time really does tick past a pretty fast pace and you soon can allow regret should you not do now those things which you enjoy most.

Take care of the golf balls first – the things that really matter.  Set your priorities.  The rest is just sand.

And if you are wondering what the wine represents in my little puzzle, it just goes to show that no matter how full your life may seem, there is always room for a couple of glasses of wine with a friend.

One response to “Two glasses of wine…

Leave a Reply

